Posted in Uncategorized

Who am I?

So, being new to the blogging scene (apparently the same as most of the rest of the SpCP class) I figured I would follow suit like everyone else and give a bit of a description of myself to start.

My name is Chris Todd, I am 28 (had my birthday 4 weeks ago, when I probably should have stared this blog) and I am originally from Sydney, but moved to Canberra a little over two years ago tostudy Sport Coaching and Exercise Science combined with Sport Management at UC and I have started this blog as part of an assignment for one of my subjects, Sport Coaching Pedagogy. I just want to add that Pedagogy means teaching; the number of people that have said “why is it called that” sends me crazy. I have been at uni for a long time now, having started off doing Molecular Biotechnology at Sydney Uni before moving into a Masters of Education in Coach Education there and then finally moving to Canberra to get into my current course.I have done numerous coaching and management courses outside of uni and I currently coach volleyball (and a little tennis) which is where I see my future career.

I am highly active within the volleyball community playing national league with Canberra Heat, and hopefully going to my third and final World Uni Games later this year (just waiting to hear about final selection information – fingers crossed) and I coach the Australian Junior Women’s volleyball team, and have been involved with that program for almost two and a half years. I am also one of the student directors on the UCU board and I am the Assistant director of the Volleyball ACT junior academy. Basically I have volleyball most days of the week and when I don’t its probably because I am doing uni work.

Looking at what some of the other blogs have had posted and from conversations with various other people in the course I have decided that the best way to make use of this blog is to focus on what is going on with my coaching, and how this subject, along with my others and the various reading that come with that, alter my thoughts and plans for coaching and sport as a whole. I’d also like to add that anyone reading this can let me know any various issues or concerns regarding the university and I will be happy to take it to the monthly board meetings that I attend for UCU.

Anyway, that should do as a first post…I might try and backtrack through the last few weeks with the info that has been going on.

Author:

This blog was started for a Uni subject, and has since evolved into a place where I can voice my thoughts, typically about coaching and sport. I grew up in Sydney, then moved to Canberra for some further study in 2011 and when I finished in 2014 I moved up to Brisbane. I have played, coached and generally been involved with volleyball since 2013. As of 2017 I am now the QAS Volleyball Assistant Coach.

Leave a Reply

