Posted in Sport Coaching Pedagogy Classes

Sport Coaching Pedagogy weeks 1-3

So unfortunately for me I wasn’t able to attend the lectures in weeks 1, 2 and 3. Week 1 it was my birthday and so I obviously spent the day full of food and with friends. Week 2 I was away at a wedding where I was one of my mates best man, and week 3 I went away to a volleyball tournament in Cootamundra and had to get my car fixed before leaving. Fortunately I was able to attend the tutorials in weeks 1 and 3 though.

Having had Keith for a previous subject before, and having a number of discussions with him outside of class time I knew that this subject was going to be outside of the normal realms of lectures compared to most subjects. Although its a subject full of people that I have been involved with in every other subject I have done thus far, the first tutorial was a good demonstration of how you may have classes with people but that doesn’t mean you know who they are. After a nifty little name game (that I’m sure I am going to use next time I have a large group that I am coaching at a camp whereby nobody knows each others name) we played some 3 on 3 basketball and had some brief discussions about how you don’t have to know the specifics of a sport you are coaching as long as you understand the fundamental features of the game. Week 3 we played some more basketball but this time we looked more at the ways that you can teach by limiting or improving the chances of success, in particular at having more or less players in a team.

Personally I believe that if you are you going to be a good coach you need to have a good understanding of what you are trying to teach the players. In this case though, I think that it showed that you can teach skills that are transferable across different types of games (invasion games, court games, fundamental movements) and then learn the specific skills as you are coaching, and in fact that tends to be the way all coaching works; the more you try to teach the more you learn and improve yourself.

Author:

This blog was started for a Uni subject, and has since evolved into a place where I can voice my thoughts, typically about coaching and sport. I grew up in Sydney, then moved to Canberra for some further study in 2011 and when I finished in 2014 I moved up to Brisbane. I have played, coached and generally been involved with volleyball since 2013. As of 2017 I am now the QAS Volleyball Assistant Coach.

Leave a Reply

